top of page

Welcome to the magical world of the Dragonsdome Chronicles

Hello, and a warm welcome to the magical world of The Dragonsdome Chronicles, award winning books written to enchant and engage all age groups. It doesn't matter if you are 9 or 99 years young; if you love dragons, magical mayhem and adventure, these books are written for you.   So turn that first page of The Dragonsdome Chronicles and let your imagination take flight.  Dragons let us hold on to the magic of childhood when other dreams are left behind. Dragons allow our imaginations to take flight. Dragons give us all wings.


About me: Life As a Scottish Author

I spent most of my childhood wandering woods and beaches in East Lothian in Scotland watching the wildlife and dreaming. There were deer and foxes, pheasant and hares. Being a passionate animal lover I knew there used to be wolves and bears and beavers, and if they no longer existed, then I imagined them. I used to gaze across from Johnny the Elf’s Wood towards Dirleton castle, imagining Edward I besieging it, and later Cromwell’s forces taking it by storm. The very name Archerfield evoked the past; I grew up where the archers from the castle used to practice! As a student on an elderly BSA motorbike, I went pretty much everywhere else from Orkney to the Scottish Borders, camping in Glen Coe in the snow, and exploring countless ruined castles, mostly in the rain. I never needed to look further than my own childhood for ideas as an author – there is a wealth of Scottish history to plunder for inspiration.So it’s no surprise that the Dragonsdome chronicles are set in the Seven Sea Kingdoms, inspired by the Celtic sea kingdoms of old. Observant readers will have noticed that the map at the beginning of The Dragon Whisperer is modelled on Scotland, and yes, not exactly, the geography is not always the same, but you can spot the similarities between the Western Isles and the Westering Isles, the Isle of Skye and the Isle of Midges, Glen More and the Never Ending Glen, the Cairngorms and the Brimstones. The first two books are set in The Sorcerers Glen at the heart of the kingdoms, on the Black Isle and Dragon Isle, dark volcanic islands that rise out of a deep sea loch: but the third in the series, Dragon Lords Rising, takes us out into the wider world beyond the Brimstones and the Old Wall (yes, you guessed, Hadrian’s Wall, the northern frontier of the Romans in Britain) to the Ice Isles in the north. Just like Scotland there is magic and mystery, there are thistle dragons and honey tablets…what more could an author want?

Even my surname has long been associated with witchcraft and the old gods....



In the black furrow of a field
I saw an old witch-hare this night;
And she cocked her lissome ear,
And she eyed the moon so bright,
And she nibbled o' the green;
And I whispered 'Whsst! witch-hare,'
Away like a ghostie o'er the field
She fled, and left the moonlight there.

Walter de la Mare

bottom of page